Plagiarizing Poet, part 2

The Plagiarizing Poet has struck again. How can this be? Was I not stern enough the last time?

It is (according to him) my fault. Did I really expect him to write eight poems?

(Tiresome excuses continue as Dax rolls eyes and uses body language to say, ‘Do I look like an idiot? Or are you one?)

Dax: Well, the good news is that we can now answer the question, “Am I passing?”

PP: Do you mean that I have an F?

Dax (palm itching to slap own forehead): Why, yes. If my math is correct, zero plus zero still equals zero.

PP: Why didn’t you warn me that I was failing?

Dax: I wanted it to be a surprise. Apparently, you are surprised, so I’ve succeeded.

PP: What was I supposed to do? I didn’t have time to write poems.

Dax: Yes, I can see that. Writing a poem requires THOUGHT, something we must never demand of our students.

PP (eyes shifting shiftily): So, you’re saying that I will fail?

Dax: Let’s put it this way: you have some extra time now to spend on all the classes you’re NOT cheating in. And as an added bonus, you can start sleeping in!

PP: What if I turn in a final portfolio? Can I pass if I do this?

Dax: Hahahaha! Oh, you’re not joking. Let me explain it to you: No.

So it was, in the end, my fault that Plagiarizing Poet couldn’t write eight lousy poems. I am a dog (f.) who tricked him into thinking he wouldn’t have to write anything in a writing class. I can only hope that I haven’t irreparably scarred his creativity with my unreasonable demands. Creativity, after all, can’t be produced on demand; it requires lots of cut and paste from the internet.

Disclaimer: No students were treated with actual sarcasm, or their self-esteem hurt in the making of this short excuse for a blogpost. All students are Highly Educated and Empowered for Success in the Global Community of the Twenty-First Century.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stewart
    May 18, 2010 @ 22:11:50

    Aha, the secret of your gender has been revealed.

    Wasn’t this more or less the exact same conversation you had with him the first time, as well?

    Reply

    • escher dax
      May 18, 2010 @ 22:28:13

      I believe anyone can be a bitch, male of female. Yes, I am a bitch (f), and proud to have earned the title!
      This was almost exactly the same conversation we had the first time. He’s not stupid; he just thinks I am.
      It took me about eleven minutes to find all eight poems.

      Reply

      • stewart
        May 19, 2010 @ 03:23:59

        Technically, yes. But I would expect “asshole” more for men, or bitch with a very different connotation, in any case. 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

