“My Bad” (and other half-ass apologies)

I rarely demand apologies from people. I don’t like putting myself into a position to be re-dissed by a refusal.

But it’s my job to enforce rules. And people seem to have no trouble saying, “My bad,” when I call them on something.

“We don’t use that kind of language in this room. ”

“My bad.”

“You’ve been late to class every day this semester.”

“My bad.”

“No talking during the test.”

“My bad.”

“Put your phone away.”

“My bad.”

As far as I’m concerned, “My bad,” is the same thing as “F– you.”

Does an automatic “my bad” outweigh a forced “I’m sorry” (said with rolling of eyes)?

Why do people apologize, anyway, if they don’t think they did anything wrong?

It’s a power thing. You put me down, point out a mistake I made, and I give you an apology that says, in brief: “I’m not sorry, and I think you’re an ass, but you’re not important enough to be worthy of my attention, so F– you.”

How does one respond to such a half-ass apology? If I am still mad, I’m a tight-ass, up-tight, by-the-rules idiot. If I let it go, I’ve been re-dissed. I can’t come out on top in this power-play.

  • I need a good reply for this. Please vote:

1. Yes, your bad.
2. What, is that an apology?
3. (Say nothing; avenge myself later, passive-aggressively.)

Any ideas would be more than welcome.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ian g
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 16:14:19

    I don’t think it’s as much the choice of words but the tone of their voice. Are they tired when they say it, as if they feel they have better things to do? I used to say “my bad” a lot, though it was during soccer rather than in school. Ahahah, i knew to apologize to teachers no matters what; teachers are always right even when they’re wrong.

    Sounds like discipline, yes, but it also sounds like they’re bored. Which is why I’m doing Elementary Education; they’re so much easier to entertain 😛

    Reply

  2. Doughbury
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 11:29:42

    The key to a sincere apology is action. A person who is truly sorry will amend his actions so as to no longer offend. I think an appropriate response to insincerity is to hold the person accountable by demanding his words be backed up with deeds. So the next time someone says, “My bad,” perhaps you can try responding with, “So then what are you going to do about it?” This forces the person to think about his actions, or to at least reveal up front and out loud that he’ll do nothing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

