Nostalgia: Y2K

It’s been ten years since we all laid in supplies of water, batteries and canned ravioli. Ten years since we all prepared to descend into medieval chaos, a world lit only by fire. Or at least a world lit only by battery-operated lanterns.

Remember Y2K?

I recall one of my students telling me before winter break that we wouldn’t be back to school in January, because everything was going to stop working.

I picked up my Latin book, opened it, closed it, and said, “See? Still works. Don’t worry, we’ll still be reading about the Gallic Wars in 2000.”

It was disappointing, really, a huge let-down to watch the ball descend in Times Square, thinking that darkness would fall on the world, and instead hearing Guy Lombardo and the Royal Canadians playing Auld Lang Syne.

When I think about how this event could have changed humanity, I am nostalgic. But I am a medieval person. I like bathing in cold water and eating ravioli out of the can.

Has everyone forgotten how we avoided a cosmic meltdown, and nobody could explain why?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

